Photos

The old US 301 bridge over the Santee River/Lake Marion. The two mile long span (built in 1947) was closed to vehicle traffic in 1987 and now is used as a pedestrian walkway. In the foreground is an old picture of the same view in 1955.

Old abandoned cafe south of Orangeburg on US 301. There is a large coffee pot on the roof which survives.

Downtown Elloree, SC in the antiques district.

All that remains of an auto graveyard; two miles south of Santee on US 301.

Duke's of Bamberg has great Carolina style BBQ

US 301 bridge over the Savannah River at the GA/SC line. This is a view from the old abandoned swing bridge that is now a pedestrian walkway.

Screven County (GA) High School Marching Band at the annual Livestock Festival Parade, downtown Sylvania 2012.

Antique Farmall tractor at the Livestock Festival Parade, Sylvania, Ga 2012.

The old Georgia Welcome Center on US 301 at the Ga/SC border. Built in 1962, it is the oldest continually operating visitor center in the United States.

One of two Napolean cannons that guard the park in the center of downtown Sylvania, Georgia.